Women’s Philharmonic Advocacy is a non-profit organization founded in 2008 in order to:

  • Recognize the achievement of The Women’s Philharmonic (1980-2004) over their 24 years of activity.
  • Build on this work by advocating for the performance of women composers by orchestras and ensembles.
  • Address the place of women composers (historic and contemporary) in today’s repertoire of orchestras and ensembles in the US and internationally.
  • Present information that highlights the shortage of programming of works by women; the heritage of TWP emphasizes that this should and can be corrected.

Board of Directors:

Liane Curtis – President

Resident Scholar, Women’s Studies Research Center, Brandeis University; President, The Rebecca Clarke Society, Inc.     Ph.D. in Musicology

Joan Capra   Violinist, musician with The Women’s Philharmonic. Researcher of historic women composers, provided material for TWP’s Baroquen Treasures recording

Chen Yi    Composer, Professor at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music and Dance.

Beth Denisch   Composer and Faculty, The Berklee College of Music

Robert Kendrick    Professor of Music at the University of Chicago. His books include Celestial Sirens: Nuns and Their Music in Early Modern Milan, he has edited the motets of Chiara Maria Cozzolani, and he is currently researching Louise Farrenc. 

Ann Krinitsky  She directs the Marin Symphony Youth Performance programs and the Virtuoso Program at San Domenico School.  A frequent guest conductor with the Honolulu Symphony, she was also a guest conductor for The Women’s Philharmonic.

Margaret Lucia  Professor of Music at Shippensburg University (PA), she is a noted pianist and has performed and recorded widely.

Beverly McChesney Bassoonist, performed with The Women’s Philharmonic; her quintet Bellavente Winds has released two CDs

Pamela Madsen  Composer and Music Faculty, at Cal. State Univ. Fullerton. She regularly organizes festivals of new music.

Kathleen McGuire   After more than a decade of working as a conductor in San Francisco, McGuire returned to her native Australia in 2013 where she is now Director of Music, Queen’s College – The University of Melbourne

Barbara Day TurnerMusic Director and Founder of the San José Chamber Orchestra, and music administrator and conductor of the Utah Festival Opera and Musical Theater

Nan H. WashburnCo-founder and Artistic Director of The Women’s Philharmonic – Music Director and Conductor of the Michigan Philharmonic

Director of Research and Blogger-in-Chief:

Sarah E. Baer –   M.A. in Musicology and Women’s and Gender Studies

Director of Music Publications and Editor-in-Chief of Amy Beach Project:

Chris A. Trotman, –  M.M. in Music Composition and M.L.I.S.

Advisory Committee:

Robyn Bramhall
Past President, The Women’s Philharmonic, Senior Professional in Human Resources
Kile Smith
Composer, and Past Curator of the Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music in the Free Library of Philadelphia
Mary Buckley
Retired Social Worker, music-lover and researcher on Women’s History

Past Board Member:

Judith Rosen
Music activist, Author of Grazyna Bacewicz: Her Life and Works. Past Board Member of The Women’s Philharmonic

Our Logos: